Eat that Frog with a Pomodoro

Muhammad Usman
2 min readDec 28, 2020

--

“One day you will be more creative, more productive, and yet more relaxed.”

I practiced the Pomodoro to prepare my notes that I was trying to read for many days but couldn’t. I set a timer of 25 minutes, remove all distractions around, and started to read, I got distracted three times by the neighbors and their children. I wrote it on paper and continued to read. After the timer rang, I took a short break and just walk for a while then set the timer again and repeated the same thing, After completing 4 cycles Of Pomodoro, I took a long break of 20 minutes.

Questions

  1. Was this experiment difficult for you or not that difficult?

It was very difficult at the start because the subject was too boring and tough and I felt that 25 minutes are as long as one hour. but I keep on doing it and then I realized there was no difficulty.

2. Did it help you accomplish more or about the same?

No, But It was a really good experience to find a way to read my notes and I accomplished to do that more than expected.

3. Do you plan on doing this again regularly, and what will you do to improve the experience?

Yes, For now, I will definitely try to use this technique for doing the things that seem difficult just because of distractions. It actually helped me to realize that things are not as tough as I think and just due to my laziness and the distraction between me and my work, I can’t be able to start my work. But now I understand I just have to pay some attention and focus on work and things will become easy.

It’s a wonderful way to reduce and remove procrastination from our lives. People often procrastinate because they would like to remain in their comfort zone but the Pomodoro technique helps to eradicate that comfort.

--

--